Springe direkt zu Inhalt

SAVE THE DATE: Award Ceremony of the Margherita von Brentano Prize 2021

Nov 16, 2021 | 06:00 PM - 08:00 PM

This year's Margherita von Brentano Prize of Freie Universität Berlin goes to the database project "Feminizidmap". The award is presented to an initiative whose participants have been documenting homicides committed against women and girls on the basis of their gender since 2019, thereby contributing to gender justice in jurisprudence. In justifying its decision, the jury emphasized that the group, which consists of students, scientists and activists, is doing "pioneering work" with the documentation of homicides in a field that has only recently come into the public eye. The interdisciplinary and international association provides important data for further legal, political, social and cultural changes so that these homicides can be processed and prevented in the future.

This year's award ceremony will take place on 16 November 2021. More information on the program will follow soon.

Please register HERE!

The Margherita von Brentano Prize, endowed with 15,000 euros, has been awarded since 1995 every two years by the university's Executive Board to outstanding individuals and innovative projects that have rendered outstanding services to the advancement of women and/or gender studies. Previous prizewinners include the student initiative "Medical Students for Choice" (2019), Prof. Dr. Beate Rudolf, the joint research collective "Frauen und Flucht" headed by Prof. Hansjörg Dilger und Kristina Dohrn (2017), the working group Arbeitskreis Historische Frauen- und Geschlechterforschung e.V. (2015), the initiative group for the foundation of a Centre for Gender Studies in Medicine (GiM) (2007) and the Berlin lawyer Seyran Ateş (2006).

The prize's eponym, Margherita von Brentano, received her doctorate from Martin Heidegger in 1948 and became a professor at the Institute for Philosophy at Freie Universität in 1971. In 1970, she was the first woman to be elected vice president of the university. Margherita von Brentano made it her concern to overcome professional discrimination against women at universities and research institutions as early as the early 1960s. She was also active in other social fields: Until her death in 1995, for example, she campaigned for the erection of a Berlin memorial to the victims of the Holocaust.

Further Information

Please register HERE!

More information on the program will follow soon!

Contact:
mvbz@fu-berlin.de

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

SAVE THE DATE: Verleihung des Margherita-von-Brentano-Preises 2021

16.11.2021 | 18:00 - 20:00

Der diesjährige Margherita-von-Brentano-Preis der Freien Universität Berlin geht an das Datenbankprojekt „Feminizidmap“. Damit wird eine Initiative ausgezeichnet, deren Beteiligte seit 2019 Tötungsdelikte an Frauen und Mädchen aufgrund ihres Geschlechts dokumentieren und die damit einen Beitrag zu Geschlechtergerechtigkeit in der Jurisprudenz leisten. Die Jury betonte zur Begründung, die aus Studierenden, Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern sowie Aktivistinnen und Aktivisten bestehende Gruppe leiste mit der Dokumentation von Tötungsdelikten „Pionierarbeit“ auf einem Feld, das erst in jüngster Zeit in den Blickpunkt der Öffentlichkeit gerückt sei. Der interdisziplinäre und internationale Zusammenschluss stelle wichtige Daten für weitere rechtliche, politische, soziale und kulturelle Veränderungen zur Verfügung, sodass diese Tötungsdelikte aufgearbeitet und künftig verhindert werden könnten.

Die diesjährige Verleihung findet am 16. November 2021 statt. Nähere Informationen zum Programm folgen in Kürze.

HIER geht es zur Anmeldung!

Der mit 15.000 Euro dotierte Margherita-von-Brentano-Preis wird alle zwei Jahre vom Präsidium der Hochschule an herausragende Personen und innovative Projekte vergeben, die sich um die Frauenförderung und/oder die Geschlechterforschung verdient gemacht haben. Zu den bisherigen Preisträgerinnen gehören unter anderem die Studentische Initiative „Medical Students for Choice“ (2019), Prof. Dr. Beate Rudolf, das Forschungskollektiv „Frauen und Flucht“ unter Leitung von Prof. Hansjörg Dilger und Kristina Dohrn (2017), der Arbeitskreis Historische Frauen- und Geschlechterforschung e.V. (2015), die Initiativgruppe zur Gründung eines Zentrums für Geschlechterforschung in der Medizin (GiM) (2007) und die Berliner Rechtsanwältin Seyran Ateş (2006).

Die Namensgeberin des Preises, Margherita von Brentano, promovierte 1948 bei Martin Heidegger und wurde 1971 Professorin am Institut für Philosophie der Freien Universität. Im Jahr 1970 wurde sie als erste Frau in das Amt der Vizepräsidentin der Hochschule gewählt. Margherita von Brentano machte es sich schon zu Beginn der 1960er Jahre zum Anliegen, die berufliche Diskriminierung von Frauen an Universitäten und Forschungseinrichtungen zu überwinden. Sie wirkte auch in anderen gesellschaftlichen Feldern: So setzte sie sich bis zu ihrem Tod im Jahr 1995 für die Errichtung eines Berliner Mahnmals zum Gedenken an die Opfer des Holocaust ein.

Weitere Informationen

HIER geht es zur Anmeldung!

Nährere Informationen zum Programm folgen in Kürze!

Kontakt:
mvbz@fu-berlin.de