Springe direkt zu Inhalt

'Seed Money' for Projects in the field of Gender Studies

Financed from the budget of the Interdisciplinary Center for Gender Studies (IZG), whose tasks has been taken over by the Margherita von Brentano Center, Seed Funding Grants for innovative projects in the field of gender studies are available. Information on the projects from the previous calls for proposals can be found HERE.

Currently, projects are funded in two funding lines:

With this funding initiative, the MvBZ supports the planning and implementation of academic events that aim to develop and discuss new scientific ideas and innovative research perspectives in the field of gender studies. The events should be interdisciplinary and internationally oriented. Cooperation between researchers from different faculties or disciplines and active participation of early career researchers (doctoral and postdoctoral researchers) are welcome.

The MvBZ also encourages the testing of innovative event formats and new instruments of scientific exchange. The funding is open to all topics in the field of gender studies. Symposia, workshops and conferences as well as digital formats are supported.

Specific information and requirements for applying for funding line 1:

  • PhD students, research assistants, and lectures at Freie Universität Berlin are eligible to apply. Group applications are also possible.
  • Seed Fund Grants of up to 5,000 euros are available.

With this funding initiative, the MvBZ supports students and scientists in using their scientific expertise to engage with society and to test new forms of science communication. Funding is provided for projects that not only make science and research generally comprehensible and accessible, but also give the public the opportunity to contribute to scientific debates with their own impulses and suggestions. Cooperation with private or institutional partners from civil society as well as with professional science communicators (e.g. press offices, specialized agencies, experienced professionals, teachers in equivalent courses of study) is also encouraged.

The following measures are possible:

  • Innovative and creative activities to improve science communication and knowledge transfer;
  • Formats that test the further development of science communication methods and tools in existing projects. These include, among others, the following projects: participatory, dialog and participation-promoting formats such as labs, science slams, podcasts, citizen science projects, exhibitions, participatory campaigns, movies, development of learning materials, game development, blogs or social media formats.

 

Specific information and requirements for applying for funding line 2:

  • Advanced students, doctoral candidates, research assistants, and lectures at Freie Universität Berlin are eligible to apply. Applications from several researchers are also possible.
  • Applications made by students must be tied to a seminar.
  • Seed Funding Grants of up to 2,500 euros are available.

- Applicants are expected to cooperate with the Margherita von Brentano Center. The MvBZ will actively support the planning, implementation and announcement of the events or activities.

- Specific indication of the use of the funds and a brief report must be submitted after the funding period.

- For further information or application advice, please contact Dr. Sabina García Peter: sabina.garcia.peter@fu-berlin.de

  • Submission

Before submitting your paper, please contact Dr. Sabina García Peter (sabina.garcia.peter@fu-berlin.de) to discuss your ideas. 

The following documents must be submitted for the application: a generally comprehensible synopsis of the planned project (in German or English) of no more than 5 pages, a list of the researchers involved, work and time scheduling, financial planning, information on collaborations in the field of gender research at Freie Universität Berlin and collaborations with the Margherita von Brentano Center, the applicant's curriculum vitae, and proof of qualification.

  •  Address

Please send your application electronically with all supporting documents (as PDF) to: bewerbungen@mvbz.fu-berlin.de

  • Deadlines

Applications can be submitted at any time. A selection is made three times a year (mid-March, June and December). There is a maximum funding period of one year after its approval. By then, the funds should have been spent and the project completed.

  • Selection:

The Research Project Team at the Margherita von Brentano Center (previously the Board of Directors of the Interdisciplinary Center for Gender Studies) together with the involvement of external reviewers decide on the submitted applications.

Springe direkt zu Inhalt

‚Seed Money‘ für Projekte im Bereich der Geschlechterforschung

Aus den Mitteln des Interdisziplinären Zentrums Geschlechterforschung, dessen Aufgaben das Margherita-von-Brentano-Zentrum übernommen hat, werden Fördermittel für die Anschubfinanzierung von innovativen Projekten aus dem Bereich der Geschlechterforschung ausgeschrieben. Informationen zu Projekten aus den vorherigen Ausschreibungen finden Sie HIER.

Aktuell werden Projekte in zwei Förderlinien finanziert:

Mit dieser Förderungsinitiative fördert das MvBZ die Planung und Durchführung von Veranstaltungen, die die Entwicklung und Diskussion neuer wissenschaftlicher Ideen und innovativer Forschungsperspektiven im Bereich der Geschlechterforschung zum Ziel haben. Die Veranstaltungen sollten interdisziplinär und international ausgerichtet sein. Kooperation zwischen Wissenschaftler*innen verschiedener Einrichtungen bzw. Disziplinen und eine aktive Beteiligung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses (Doktorand*innen und Postdoktorand*innen) sind erwünscht.

Das MvBZ ermutigt mit dieser Initiative auch dazu, innovative Veranstaltungsformate bzw. neue Instrumente des wissenschaftlichen Austauschs zu erproben. Die Förderung ist im Bereich der Geschlechterforschung themenoffen. Gefördert werden Symposien, Workshops und Konferenzen ebenso wie digitale Formate.

Detaillierte Informationen und Voraussetzungen für die Bewerbung für Förderlinie 1:

  • Antragsberechtigt sind Promovierende, Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiter*innen und Hochschullehrer*innen an der Freien Universität Berlin. Anträge von mehreren Wissenschaftlern*innen sind ebenfalls möglich.
  • Vergeben werden Anschubförderungen in Höhe von bis zu 5.000 Euro

Mit dieser Förderinitiative unterstützt das MvBZ Studierende und Wissenschaftler*innen dabei, sich mit ihrer wissenschaftlichen Expertise gesellschaftlich zu engagieren und dabei neue Formen von Wissenschaftskommunikation zu erproben. Gefördert werden Vorhaben, die nicht nur Wissenschaft und Forschung allgemein verständlich und zugänglich machen, sondern auch solche, die der Öffentlichkeit die Möglichkeit geben, mit eigenen Impulsen und Anregungen zu wissenschaftlichen Debatten beizutragen. Ermutigt wird auch die Kooperation mit privaten oder institutionellen Partner*innen aus der Zivilgesellschaft sowie mit professionellen Wissenschaftskommunikator*innen (z.B. Pressestellen, spezialisierten Agenturen, erfahrenen Profis, Lehrenden in entsprechenden Studiengängen).

Folgende Maßnahmen sind möglich:

  • Innovative und kreative Maßnahmen zur Verbesserung von Wissenschaftskommunikation und Wissenstransfer;
  • Formate, die eine Weiterentwicklung der Methoden von Wissenschaftskommunikation in bestehenden Projekten erproben. Darunter fallen u.a. folgende Vorhaben: partizipatorische, dialog- und beteiligungsfördernde Formate wie Labs, Science Slams, Podcasts, Citizen-Science-Vorhaben, Ausstellungen, Mitmachaktionen, Filme, Entwicklung von Lernmaterialien, Spieleentwicklung, Blogs oder Social-Media-Formate.

 

Detaillierte Informationen und Voraussetzungen für die Bewerbung für Förderlinie 2:

  • Antragsberechtigt sind fortgeschrittene Studierende, Promovierende, wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiter*innen und Hochschullehrer*innen an der Freien Universität Berlin. Anträge von mehreren Forschenden im Verbund sind ebenfalls möglich.
  • Anträge, die durch Studierende erfolgen, müssen an eine Lehrveranstaltung angebunden sein.
  • Vergeben werden Anschubförderungen in Höhe von bis zu 2.500 Euro. 

- Die Bereitschaft zur Kooperation mit dem Margherita-von-Brentano-Zentrum wird erwartet. Das MvBZ wird die Planung, Durchführung und Bekanntmachung der Veranstaltung bzw. der Aktivitäten aktiv unterstützen.

- Nach Ablauf des Förderungszeitraums ist ein Nachweis über die Ausgabe der Mittel und ein kurzer Bericht vorzulegen.

- Für weitere Informationen bzw. Antragsberatung können sich Interessierte an die Geschäftsführung des Margherita-von-Brentano-Zentrums wenden: heike.pantelmann@fu-berlin.de

  • Einreichung

Folgende Unterlagen sind für die Bewerbung einzureichen: allgemein verständliches Exposé für das geplante Projekt (in deutscher oder englischer Sprache) im Umfang von max. 5 Seiten, Liste der beteiligten Wissenschaftler*innen, Zeit-, Arbeits- und Finanzplanung, Angaben zu Kooperationen im Bereich Geschlechterforschung an der Freien Universität Berlin sowie mit dem Margherita-von-Brentano-Zentrum, Lebenslauf und Qualifikationsnachweise der Antragsteller*innen.

  •  Adresse

Die Anträge sollten in elektronischer Form mit allen Unterlagen (als PDF) geschickt werden an: bewerbungen@mvbz.fu-berlin.de.

  • Termine

Anträge können jederzeit eingereicht werden. Eine Auswahl erfolgt dreimal pro Jahr jeweils Mitte März, Juni und Dezember. Ab dem Zeitpunkt der Bewilligung besteht eine maximale Laufzeit der Förderung von einem Jahr. Bis dahin sollen die Mittel verausgabt und das Projekt abgeschlossen sein.

  • Auswahl:

Über die eingereichten Anträge entscheidet das Projektteam Forschung am Margherita-von-Brentano-Zentrum (ehemals Vorstand des Interdisziplinären Zentrums Geschlechterforschung) ggf. unter Hinzuziehung externer Gutachten.