ZEFG Archive

History of the Center for the Promotion of Women’s and Gender Studies (ZEFG)

The Center for the Promotion of Women’s and Gender Studies (Zentraleinrichtung zur Förderung von Frauen- und Geschlechterforschung, ZEFG) was founded in 1981 with the objectives of both establishing the structural groundwork for the more equitable participation of female academics and integrating Women’s Studies and Gender Studies into scholarship and education. It was one of the first institutions of its kind at a West German university. Female students and lecturers at Freie Universität Berlin (and elsewhere) had paved the way. The establishment of the center had been preceded by a decade of feminist protests decrying androcentrism in academia and the underrepresentation of women in research and teaching.

Before it was folded into the Margherita von Brentano Center in early 2016, the ZEFG collaborated with the academic departments, the central institutes, and the gender equality officers to initiate, coordinate, and support teaching, research, and publication activities in the areas of Women’s Studies, Gender Studies, and Diversity Studies at Freie Universität Berlin.

Much of its remit (including gender in teaching, publication grants, maintaining data tabulations, and providing access to sources in the library) has been integrated into the Margherita von Brentano Center’s work.

The ZEFG’s event archive is located here. Audio recordings were made of some of the events.

A list of former ZEFG staff members can be found here.

Archiv der ZEFG

Geschichte der Zentraleinrichtung zur Förderung von Frauen- und Geschlechterforschung

Die Zentraleinrichtung zur Förderung von Frauen- und Geschlechterforschung (ZEFG) wurde 1981 mit dem Ziel gegründet, strukturelle Grundlagen für eine gerechtere Partizipation von Wissenschaftlerinnen sowie für die Integration von Frauen- und Geschlechterforschung in Wissenschaft und Ausbildung zu schaffen. Sie war damit eine der ersten Einrichtungen dieser Art an einer (west-) deutschen Universität. Wegbereiterinnen waren Studentinnen und Dozentinnen (nicht nur) der Freien Universität Berlin. Der Gründung der Zentraleinrichtung war eine Dekade feministischer Proteste gegen den Androzentrismus in der Wissenschaft und die Unterrepräsentanz von Frauen in Forschung und Lehre vorausgegangen.

Bis zu ihrer Überführung in der Margherita-von-Brentano-Zentrum Anfang 2016 hat die ZEFG in Zusammenarbeit mit den Fachbereichen, den Zentralinstituten und den Frauenbeauftragten Lehr-, Forschungs- und Publikationsaktivitäten im Bereich der Frauen- und Geschlechterforschung / Gender Studies und Diversity Studies an der Freien Universität Berlin initiiert, koordiniert und unterstützt.

Wesentliche Teile ihres Aufgabenspektrums (u.a. Gender in der Lehre, Publikationsförderung, Pflege von Datensammlungen, Bereitstellung von Literatur in der Bibliothek) sind in die Arbeit des Margherita-von-Brentano-Zentrums integriert.

Hier finden Sie das Veranstaltungsarchiv der ZEFG. Zu einigen Veranstaltungen wurden Audiomitschnitte angefertigt.

Eine Auflistung der ehemaligen Mitarbeiter_innen der ZEFG finden Sie hier.