Library

The Margherita von Brentano Center’s library has been integrated into the Campus Library. All books purchased by MvBZ or its predecessor institution are listed in the virtual library portal Primo and marked with “Bibliothek MvBZ”. As of 2017, the collection comprises 5,600 books and bound periodical volumes.

Relevant periodicals and book series from the fields of Women’s and Gender Studies, Gender Studies and Diversity, and Queer Studies are available as well as a comprehensive newspaper archive. The periodical holdings can be viewed and searched in the German–Austrian newspaper database ZDB (interface in German). You can view a list of currently stocked periodicals here (in German).

We would also like to draw your attention to querelles-net, a German-language journal of book reviews in Women’s and Gender Studies published by the Margherita von Brentano Center.

Dr. Hanna-Beate Schöpp-Schilling’s Book Collection

In November 2010, the Margherita von Brentano Center received the late Dr. Hanna-Beate Schöpp-Schilling’s book collection as a bequest from the late scholar’s estate. Dr. Schöpp-Schilling was a winner of the Margherita von Brentano Prize of Freie Universität Berlin. The bequest encompasses around 1800 books, magazines, booklets, and brochures. The focus is on publications in American and English Studies, especially the American women’s movement, social trends in the United States, prominent figures in politics, literature, and society, and numerous novels by British and American authors. Thanks to a donation from Prof. Beate Rudolf (Director of the German Institute for Human Rights), we were able to view the books and develop a concept for shelving them. If you are interested in viewing the book collection, please contact Dr. Nina Johannsen.

The Library of the LesBiTrans*InterA Caucus and Women’s Caucus of the FU Student Union (AStA)

The LesBiTrans*InterA Caucus and the Women’s Caucus of the FU Student Union (Allgemeiner Studierendenausschuss, AStA) have a joint library. It is located at the Student Union’s villa on Otto-von-Simson-Str. 23. The books may be borrowed. You can find more information about the FLT*I and women’s library on the caucuses’ web pages (in German).

Bibliothek

Die Bibliothek des Margherita-von-Brentano-Zentrums ist im Jahr 2016 in die Bestände der Campusbibliothek integriert worden. Alle vom Zentrum bzw. seiner Vorgängerin, der Zentraleinrichtung zur Förderung von Frauen- und Geschlechterforschung, erworbenen Bücher sind als Virtuelle Bibliothek im Bibliotheksportal Primo nachgewiesen und dort entsprechend mit der Bemerkung „Bibliothek MvBZ“ gekennzeichnet. Der Bestand umfasst derzeit ca. 5.600 Bücher und Zeitschriftenbände.

Es stehen Monographien, einschlägige aktuelle Zeitschriftenausgaben und Serien aus dem Bereich Frauen- und Geschlechterforschung / Gender Studies / Diversity Studies / Queer Studies sowie ein umfassendes Archiv von älteren Zeitschriftenausgaben zur Verfügung. Der Bestand der Zeitschriften ist auch in der überregionalen Zeitschriftendatendatenbank ZDB abrufbar. Die Titel der laufend gehaltenen Zeitschriften sind hier als Auflistung einsehbar.

Wir möchten Sie auch auf die Rezensionszeitschrift für Frauen- und Geschlechterforschung querelles-net aufmerksam machen, die vom Margherita-von-Brentano-Zentrum herausgegeben wird.

Nachlass Dr. Hanna-Beate Schöpp-Schilling

Im November 2010 bekam das Margherita-von-Brentano-Zentrum den Bücher-Nachlass von Dr. Hanna-Beate Schöpp-Schilling. Sie ist Margherita-von-Brentano-Preis-Trägerin der Freien Universität Berlin. Der Nachlass umfasst ca. 1800 Bücher, Zeitschriften, Hefte und Broschüren. Der Schwerpunkt liegt auf Veröffentlichungen im Bereich der Amerikanistik und Anglistik, insbesondere zur amerikanischen Frauenbewegung, den sozialen Verhältnissen in den USA, herausragenden Persönlichkeiten aus Politik, Literatur und Gesellschaft sowie zahlreichen Romanen englischer und amerikanischer Schriftstellerinnen. Dank einer Spende von Prof. Dr. Beate Rudolf (Direktorin des Deutschen Instituts für Menschenrechte), konnten die Bücher gesichtet und ein Konzept für die Aufstellung erarbeitet werden. Wenn Sie Interesse haben, sich die Büchersammlung anzusehen, wenden Sie sich bitte an Dr. Nina Johannsen.

Bibliothek der LesBiTrans*InterA- und Frauen-Referate im AStA FU

Die LesBiTran*InterA- und Frauen-Referate des AStA FU verfügen über eine Bibliothek. Diese befindet sich in den Villa des Allgemeinen Studierendenausschusses, in der Otto-von-Simson-Str. 23. Die Bücher können ausgeliehen werden. Mehr Informationen zur FLT*I-Bibliothek gibt es auf den Seiten der Referate.