Archive of the IZG

History of the Interdisciplinary Center for Gender Studies

The Interdisciplinary Center for Gender Studies (IZG) was founded in late 2011 with the objective of reinforcing the existing network of Gender Studies at Freie Universität, promoting dialogue across disciplinary lines, and consolidating existing skill sets.

As a flexible and transitional facilitating body, the IZK was tasked with interlinking and rendering visible the ideas, projects, and perspectives of the scholars who teach and research at Freie Universität Berlin.

With the help of the budget allocated to the IZG for offering start-up funds, a number of projects and initiatives were supported. At events and research colloquia, new findings in Gender Studies were presented and forums were created for exchange between established researchers and junior academics.

In 2016, the Margherita von Brentano Center took over the duties of the Interdisciplinary Center for Gender Studies. The IZG’s former Board of Directors is now continuing its work as the Research Project Team.

Archiv des IZG

Geschichte des Interdisziplinären Zentrums Geschlechterforschung

Das Interdisziplinäre Zentrum Geschlechterforschung (IZG) wurde Ende 2011 mit dem Ziel gegründet, das bestehende Netzwerk der Geschlechterforschung an der Freien Universität zu stärken, den Dialog über Fachgrenzen hinweg zu unterstützen und die vorhandenen Kompetenzen zu bündeln.

Als befristete, flexible Übergangs- und Ermöglichungsstruktur hatte das IZG die Aufgabe, die Ideen, Projekte und Perspektiven der an der Freien Universität Berlin lehrenden und forschenden Wissenschaftler_innen zu vernetzen und sichtbar zu machen.

Mit Hilfe der dem IZG zur Verfügung gestellten Fördermittel für Anschubfinanzierungen wurden eine Reihe von Projekten und Initiativen unterstützt. Im Rahmen von Veranstaltungen und Forschungscolloquien wurden neue Ergebnisse der Geschlechterforschung vorgestellt und Foren zum Austausch zwischen etablierten Forschenden und Nachwuchswissenschaftler_innen geschaffen.

Dokumentation der Aktivitäten des IZG im Zeitraum 2012–2015 (PDF)

Die Aufgaben des Interdisziplinären Zentrums Geschlechterforschung wurden 2016 vom Margherita-von-Brentano-Zentrum übernommen. Der bisherige Vorstand des IZG setzt als „Projektteam Forschung“ seine Arbeit fort.