„Men on Boards – Change Agents for Equality?“ (working title)

Researcher: Dr. Anja Kirsch

The aim of the research project “Men on Boards – Change Agents for Equality?” is to illuminate how corporate directors contribute to increasing women’s representation in leadership positions. This project focuses on the role of men on boards and asks why, when and how men on boards support increasing women’s representation in leadership positions. By focusing on the role of men, this project takes a novel, innovative perspective.

Theoretically we view organizations as places where social inequality between men and women is produced and reproduced (“gendered organizations”, see Acker 1990). These inequalities are created and maintained through social interaction between people in organizations (“doing gender”, see West & Zimmerman, 1987). Men’s influence on social and organizational expectations in relation to women in leadership positions, their careers, roles and behaviour are increasingly the focus of academic research (Kelan 2017). Policy advice also increasingly discusses the role of organizational cultural norms and the importance of sharing family responsibilities for augmenting women’s representation in leadership – in these areas, men’s behaviour is significant for enabling change (Catalyst 2009; Holst & Friedrich 2017). Taking a neo-institutional persprective, the law on equality for women and men in managerial positions (Gesetz für die gleichberechtigte Teilhabe von Frauen und Männern an Führungspositionen) is a new institution that provides actors with new ways to initiate change (Funder & May 2014). We will examine how men on boards support women in obtaining leadership positions, and explore their motives and the circumstances in which they take action.

We employ a qualitative research design and collect data using semi-structured interviews. Themes include how men on boards conceive of their role and their contributions to decision-making; whether and in which circumstances they have supported women in obtaining leadership positions, for example in the appointment of executives to the management board, in executive development and succession planning, and in the determination of targets for women’s representation in senior management; their motives, and whether they conceive of themselves as change agents.

 Dr. Anja Kirsch is a post-doctoral researcher at the Chair of Labor Politics, School of Business and Economics, Freie Universität Berlin. Her research interests include corporate governance, corporate social responsibility, gender & diversity in organizations, employment relations, leadership, and organizational change. In her current research she is examining the determinants and effects of diversity on supervisory boards.

Period: October 2018 – September 2019

Homepage

„Men on Boards – Change Agents for Equality?“ (Projektarbeitstitel)

Forscherin: Dr. Anja Kirsch

Ziel des Forschungsprojektes „Men on Boards – Change Agents for Equality?“ ist es zu beleuchten, wie Aufsichtsräte zur Erhöhung des Anteils von Frauen in Führungspositionen beitragen. Dabei konzentriert sich die Untersuchung auf die Rolle von Männern im Aufsichtsratsgremium und fragt warum, wann und wie sich Männer in Aufsichtsräten für mehr Frauen in Führungspositionen einsetzen. Mit der Fokussierung auf die Rolle von Männern wird in dieser Untersuchung ein neuartiger, innovativer Blickwinkel gewählt, der bislang noch nicht untersucht wurde.

Theoretisch begreifen wir Organisationen als Orte der Herstellung und Reproduktion sozialer Ungleichheit zwischen Männern und Frauen („Gendered Organisations“, s. Acker 1990). Diese Ungleichheiten werden durch soziale Interaktionen zwischen Personen hervorgebracht und reproduziert („Doing Gender“, s. West & Zimmerman 1987). Der Einfluss von Männern auf soziale und organisationale Erwartungen in Bezug auf Frauen in Führungspositionen, deren Karrieren, Rollen und Verhalten wird zunehmend in der Forschung thematisiert (Kelan 2017). Auch in der Politikberatung wird vermehrt auf die Rolle einer offenen Unternehmenskultur und von mehr Partnerschaftlichkeit in der Aufgabenteilung in der Familie hingewiesen – in diesen Szenarien ist das Verhalten von Männern entscheidend (Catalyst 2009; Holst & Friedrich 2017). Aus neo-institutionalistischer Perspektive bietet das Gesetz für die gleichberechtigte Teilhabe von Frauen und Männern an Führungspositionen als neue Institution gleichstellungspolitisch engagierten Akteuren und Akteurinnen neue Möglichkeiten, Veränderungen herbeizuführen (Funder & May 2014). Wir werden untersuchen, welche Ansatzpunkte Männer in Aufsichtsräten verwenden, um Frauen in Führungspositionen zu fördern, und erkunden, aus welchen Motiven und in welchen Umständen sie sich einsetzen.

Wir verwenden ein qualitatives Forschungsdesign und erheben unsere Daten mittels teilstrukturierter Interviews. Themen sind, wie Männer in Aufsichtsräten ihre Rolle auffassen und zu Entscheidungsprozessen beitragen, ob und unter welchen Umständen sie zur Förderung von Frauen in Führungspositionen beigetragen haben, zum Beispiel bei der Benennung von Vorständen, bei der Führungskräftenachwuchsentwicklung und bei der Festlegung von Zielgrößen für die Repräsentation von Frauen in den obersten Führungsebenen, was sie zu ihrem Verhalten motiviert und ob sie sich als gleichstellungspolitisch engagiert (als Change Agent) begreifen.

Zur Person: Dr. Anja Kirsch ist wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin an der Professur für Personalpolitik, Fachbereich Wirtschaftswissenschaft. Ihre Arbeitsschwerpunkte liegen im Bereich Corporate Governance, Corporate Social Responsibility, Gender & Diversity in Organisationen, Personalpolitik, Führung und organisationaler Wandel. In ihrem aktuellen Forschungsprojekt untersucht sie die Ursachen und Wirkungen von mehr Diversity in Aufsichtsräten.

Zeitplan: Oktober 2018 – September 2019

Homepage