“Imaginaries of gender and sexuality on the move” (working title)


Researcher: Yener Bayramoğlu M.A. (prom.)

Today, one of the biggest challenges in Europe is to understand the causes of vulnerable people fleeing from different regions, who seek safety and belonging in new societies, and even risk their lives to cross the borders that bound not only nations, but also cultures. An even greater challenge is to regulate the lengthy processes of migration involving the stages of departure, transit, and arrival in different countries. One particular aspect that has hitherto received insufficient attention within European discussions and policies on migration is the dimension of gender. Most notably, debates and policies have failed to take into account the vulnerability of specific gender identities and sexualities.

“Imaginaries of gender and sexuality on the move” proposes taking a comparative approach to research the migration strategies of queer refugees in Germany and Turkey, in order to produce knowledge about how being a refugee in a transit or host country affects a person’s gender identification, their relationships with communities, and their imaginaries of Europe. The project will take a novel methodological approach by focusing on the role played by social media in enabling LGBTQ individuals to develop new strategies to deal with their displacement experiences. The focus on social media will enable an exploration into how mediated and gendered imaginaries of Europe, especially Germany, shape queer migration. Furthermore, social media can offer insights into the production and circulation of alternative knowledge created by queer refugees themselves concerning rights, identifications, and strategies for securing personal safety.  

CV: Yener Bayramoğlu studied Communication Studies at Marmara University in Istanbul and received his PhD from the Institute for Media and Communication Studies at Free University of Berlin. His research interests include gender and sexuality, discourse analysis, cultural history, history of sexuality, migration studies, and queer theory. In his PhD thesis, he analyzed the historical transformation of queer representations in German and Turkish tabloids since the late 1960s. His work has been published in several books and journals. He teaches Gender and Queer Studies at Alice Salomon University in Berlin since 2015

Period: July 2016 to January 2017

Contact: yener.bayramoglu@gmail.com

„Imaginaries of gender and sexuality on the move“ (Projekttitel)


Forscher: Yener Bayramoğlu M.A. (prom.)

Der Versuch zu verstehen, warum gefährdete Personen aus verschieden Regionen auf der Suche nach Sicherheit und Zugehörigkeit die Flucht ergreifen und dabei „die Grenzen“ zwischen den Nationen und Kulturen unter Lebensgefahr überschreiten, bildet eine der großen Herausforderungen, denen Europa heute gegenübersteht. Eine noch größere Herausforderung ist die Regulation der langwierigen Prozeduren von Migration mit ihren unterschiedlichen Stadien von Aufbruch, Transit und Ankunft in den verschiedenen Ländern. Ein wichtiger Aspekt, der innerhalb der europäischen Diskussionen und Politiken nicht ausreichend beachtet wurde, ist die Dimension von Gender. Insbesondere in Bezug auf die Verwundbarkeit bestimmter Genderidentitäten und Sexualitäten scheitern die Diskussionen und Politiken.

„Imaginaries of gender and sexuality on the move“ schlägt eine komparative Vorgehensweise zur Forschung über die queeren Flüchtlinge in der Türkei und Deutschland vor, um Wissen über den Zusammenhang zwischen bestimmten Phasen der Migration und der geschlechtlichen Identifikation, der Beziehung zur eigenen Community und Imaginationen von Europa zu erzeugen. Dieses Projekt verfolgt einen neuen methodischen Ansatz, indem es den Fokus auf die Rolle der sozialen Medien bei der Entwicklung neuer Handlungsstrategien von LGBTQ-Personen und deren eigenen Displacement- Erfahrungen legt. Die Untersuchung der sozialen Medien ermöglicht die Erforschung von medialen und gegenderten Imaginationen von Europa, insbesondere von Deutschland, sowie die Beobachtung wie diese Imaginationen die queere Migration gestalten. Des Weiteren bieten die sozialen Medien einen Einblick in die Produktion und Zirkulation von alternativem Wissen, erzeugt von queeren Geflüchteten selbst, über ihre eigenen Rechte, Identifikationen und Strategien für die Absicherung der individuellen Sicherheit.

Zur Person: Yener Bayramoğlu studierte Kommunikations­wissenschaften an der Marmara Universität in Istanbul und promovierte im Institut für Publizistik- und Kommunikations­wissenschaften der Freien Universität Berlin. Seine akademischen Interessen umfassen Gender und Sexualität, Diskursanalyse, Kulturgeschichte, Geschichte der Sexualität, Migration und Queer Theory. In seiner Dissertation untersuchte er den historischen Verlauf der queeren Repräsentationen in der deutschen und türkischen Boulevardpresse seit den späten 1960er Jahren. Seine Publikationen erschienen in verschiedenen Büchern und Zeitschriften. Seit 2015 lehrt er im Feld Gender- und Queerstudies an der Alice Salomon Hochschule in Berlin.

Geplanter Zeitplan: Juli 2016 bis Januar 2017

Kontakt: yener.bayramoglu@gmail.com