Open Gender Platform

Geschlechterforschung Open Access

Geschlechterforschung Open Access

The project Open Gender Platform aims to foster the German-speaking gender studies community’s transition to open access, while connecting existing open access projects within this academic field.

The main focus of the project is to develop a publication infrastructure that makes both scientific results and publications of gender studies freely accessible and easily usable. Therefore, the goal is that the platform will provide a common home for all open access activities within German-speaking gender studies and provide for the publication needs of this community. Such needs include facilitating exchanges between heterogenous structures of knowledge production, disseminating resources within a multidisciplinary field, and pursuing more open formats of publishing informed by community-based reflections on accessibility and exclusion.

The project has a practical aim of implementing, promoting, and cultivating the aforementioned publication contexts, and offers training and supervision services to these ends. Additionally, the project’s structure encourages continuous evaluation and networking, with consecutive work packages designed to systematically address the publication and reception processes that are of vital importance for modernizing the publication habits within gender studies.

Essential to this modernization and its eventual acceptance are the project’s evaluation and preparation of technical publication infrastructures, the integration of up-to-date publication and review formats, the development of accessible style sheets and layouts, and the establishment of support networks (i.e. a comprehensive scientific board, a reviewer database, etc.). Committed to maximal transparency, the project’s progress and results are continuously published open access, advertised within the field of gender studies, and critically discussed with the scientific community.

Beyond this concrete research framework, there is hope that the project will encourage an earnest dialogue on the publication habits within gender studies and the field’s opinions towards open access publishing. For example: How should open, transparent, and participatory formats be implemented? What unique contribution can gender studies make to the free, open exchange of information given its heterogenous structures and diverse cultures of knowledge production? Is there a way to increase the process quality and visibility of gender research results through models of open access publishing?

The project is funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research and supported by the German Gender Studies Association.

The website of the Open Gender Platform, which went online in September 2019, offers Open Access formats and tools such as an open database for reviewers and the Schlagwortindex GenderOpen, a keyword index for gender studies. By providing information on technologies, business models and quality assurance, editors and authors from gender studies are given sustainable support for the transformation to open scientific publishing.

Please visit Open Gender Platform at:  https://opengenderplatform.de/

Open Gender Platform

Geschlechterforschung Open Access

Geschlechterforschung Open Access

Das Projekt Open Gender Platform hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt, die Transformation zu Open Access in der deutschsprachigen Geschlechterforschung weiter voranzutreiben sowie bestehende Open-Access-Projekte miteinander zu vernetzen.

Im Projekt wird eine Publikationsinfrastruktur entwickelt, die wissenschaftliche Veröffentlichungen der Geschlechterforschung frei zugänglich und nutzbar macht. Die Plattform soll ein Dach für alle Open-Access-Aktivitäten in der Geschlechterforschung und Angebote für das gesamte Spektrum der Publikationsanliegen bieten. Dazu gehört auch der Dialog über die heterogenen Strukturen der Wissensgewinnung und -verbreitung in einem multidisziplinären Forschungsfeld und über die Zugangsmöglichkeiten und Ausschlüsse in offenen Publikationsformaten.

Neben praktischen Fragen der Umsetzung, Förderung und Weiterentwicklung der jeweiligen Publikationskontexte wird das Projekt kontinuierlich begleitet durch Evaluation, Netzwerkarbeit, Schulungs- und Beratungsangebote. Dabei adressieren die einzelnen, aufeinander aufbauenden Arbeitspakete systematisch Aspekte von Publikations- und Rezeptionsprozessen, die für die Modernisierung des Publikationsverhaltens in der Geschlechterforschung von besonderer Bedeutung sind.

Zentral für diese Modernisierung und Akzeptanzsteigerung sind die Prüfung und Bereitstellung technischer Publikationsinfrastrukturen, die Integration neuer Publikations- und Begutachtungsformate, die Entwicklung barrierearmer Format- und Satzvorlagen sowie die Etablierung von Unterstützungs- und Vernetzungsstrukturen. Im Sinne größtmöglicher Transparenz werden sämtliche Projektfortschritte und Projektergebnisse fortlaufend im Open Access veröffentlicht, innerhalb des Feldes der Geschlechterforschung beworben und mit den jeweiligen Akteur*innen diskutiert.

Über den eigentlichen Forschungszusammenhang hinaus möchte das Projekt zu einem fortlaufenden Austausch über die Open-Access-Publikationsgepflogenheiten und -ansichten innerhalb der Geschlechterforschung anregen: Wie lassen sich offene, transparente und partizipative Publikationsformen realisieren? Welchen Beitrag kann die Geschlechterforschung mit ihren heterogenen Strukturen und Kulturen des Wissens zum freien Fluss von Informationen leisten? Lassen sich Prozessqualität und Sichtbarkeit der Ergebnisse der Geschlechterforschung durch Open-Access-Publikationsmodelle steigern?

Das Projekt wird gefördert im Rahmen der „Förderrichtlinie des freien Informationsflusses in der Wissenschaft – Open Access“ des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung und unterstützt von der Fachgesellschaft Geschlechterstudien.

Das Webangebot der Open Gender Platform, das im September 2019 online gegangen ist, bietet Open-Access-Formate und Tools wie die offene Gutachter*innen-Datenbank und den Schlagwortindex GenderOpen. Durch Informationsangebote zu Technologien, Geschäftsmodellen und Qualitätssicherung werden Redaktionen und Autor*innen aus der Geschlechterforschung bei der Transformation zu offenem wissenschaftlichem Publizieren nachhaltig unterstützt.

 

Weitere Informationen zum Projekt finden Sie in unserem Projekt-Blog.

Links zum Thema: https://opengenderplatform.de