GenderOpen: A Repository for Gender Studies Research

The primary purpose of the GenderOpenproject, launched in October 2016, is to create an electronic platform on which Gender Studies publications and other sources of knowledge can be made permanently and freely accessible and stored for the long term. This will make it easier for researchers and other interested parties to find Gender Studies publications, view them in only a few clicks, and use them for their work. At the same time, it gives authors and opportunity to publicize their Gender Studies research findings, opening them up to more rapid and targeted academic attention. The GenderOpen repository will be launched on 4 December 2017. Senator Dilek Kolat will press the button at a celebratory launch event. Please find the program here.

In his keynote at Open Access Days 2016 in Munich, Prof. Wolfgang Schön, vice president of the German Research Foundation (DFG), emphasized the significant structural effects anticipated from the DFG-supported project “Repository for Gender Studies.” The project will do more than just establish a forum for publications, he said. The platform will also advance community building efforts for a decisively interdisciplinary and transdisciplinary field of research and modernize traditional publication models (see https://videoonline.edu.lmu.de/en/node/8215, starting at minute 10).

The GenderOpen project has a broad and diverse network of partners. It maintains collaborative relationships with various Gender Studies journals and presses, the Gender Studies Association, the meta-database project of the i.d.a. umbrella organization, and the Online Gender Glossary in Leipzig. Also, since August 2017, it has been working with the Federal Ministry for Education and Research’s German Aerospace Center as the lead partner for education, gender, the equal opportunity/educational research division, and integration. In its future grant confirmations, the Federal Ministry for Education and Research will add the request that open-access publications of project results should preferably be made available on the GenderOpen repository. All previous funding recipients will also receive a similar request once the repository has been launched.

The staff members of the consortium project, which brings together Berlin’s three university-based Gender Studies centers, are profiled on the Project Members page. You can find explanations of related concepts, such as the complex copyright issues, under our FAQs (in German, English version available soon).

More information on the project and Information for Authors can be found at www.blog-genderopen.de.

GenderOpen – ein Repositorium für die Geschlechterforschung

Logo „GenderOpen Repositorium“

Logo „GenderOpen Repositorium“

Zentrales Ziel des im Oktober 2016 gestarteten GenderOpen-Projekts ist die Einrichtung einer elektronischen Plattform, auf der Publikationen und andere Wissens­bestände der Geschlechter­­forschung dauerhaft frei zugänglich gemacht und nachhaltig gesichert werden. So soll es Forschenden und Interessierten zukünftig leichter möglich sein, Veröffentlichungen im Feld der Geschlechter­­forschung aufzufinden, mithilfe weniger Klicks einzusehen und mit ihnen zu arbeiten. Autor_innen wird gleichzeitig die Möglichkeit geboten, ihre Forschungs­ergebnisse aus dem Bereich der Geschlechter­forschung öffentlich zugänglich zu machen und damit schneller und zielgerichteter in den Fokus der wissen­schaftlichen Aufmerksamkeit zu rücken. Das GenderOpen-Repositorium wird am 4. Dezember 2017 freigeschaltet. Senatorin Dilek Kolat wird in feierlichem Rahmen auf den roten Knopf drücken. Das Programm finden Sie hier.

Prof. Wolfgang Schön, Vizepräsident der DFG, betonte in seiner Keynote bei den Open-Access-Tagen 2016 in München die deutlichen Struktureffekte, die von dem DFG-geförderten Projekt „Repositorium für die Geschlechterforschung“ zu erwarten seien. Nicht nur werde dadurch ein Publikationsforum etabliert. Über die Plattform würden auch das Community Building für ein dezidiert inter- und transdisziplinäres Forschungsfeld vorangetrieben und traditionelle Publikationsmodelle modernisiert werden (vgl. https://videoonline.edu.lmu.de/en/node/8215, ab Min. 10).

Das Projekt GenderOpen ist vielfältig vernetzt: Kooperationsbeziehungen bestehen u.a. mit verschiedenen Zeitschriften und Verlagen aus dem Bereich der Geschlechterforschung, mit der Fachgesellschaft Gender Studies, dem Meta-Datenbankprojekt des i.d.a.-Dachverbandes und dem Online Gender Glossar in Leipzig, außerdem – seit August 2017 – mit dem Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF): Das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt als Projektträger für den Bereich Bildung, Gender, Abteilung Chancengleichheit/Bildungsforschung, Integration, des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung wird zukünftig in seinen Zuwendungsbescheiden die Aufforderung einfügen, dass Open-Access-Publikationen der Projektergebnisse vorzugsweise im Repositorium GenderOpen zugänglich gemacht werden sollen. Alle bereits Geförderten sollen ebenfalls eine entsprechende Aufforderung erhalten, sobald das Repositorium freigeschaltet ist.

Die Mitarbeiter_innen des Verbundprojektes der drei universitären Geschlechter­forschungszentren Berlins stellen wir Ihnen auf der Seite Projektmitglieder vor. Begriffserklärungen beispielsweise zum komplexen Thema „Urheberrecht“ finden Sie unter den FAQs.

Weitere Informationen zum Projekt sowie Informationen für Autor_innen finden sich unter www.blog-genderopen.de.