Publication Support

Box with Marbles

Box with Marbles

Supporting Publishing in Gender Studies: Objectives and Projects

Professional publications are foundational for ensuring that Gender Studies’ findings are visible, available for academic debate within and outside the field, and afforded due recognition. Visible publications are a prerequisite for raising the academic profile of Gender Studies and of the discipline’s researchers and teachers.

To this end, Gender Studies needs to build on the rapid developments in the market of academic books and journals and to find innovative ideas so that, instead of merely adapting to existing models, Gender Studies is instrumental in shaping new developments.

The Publication Support department at the Margherita von Brentano Center (headed by Dr. Anita Runge) therefore aims to initiate flagship projects for modern publishing under open-access terms, which improve networking and communication within the interdisciplinary community. One current project is establishing a disciplinary repository for Gender Studies.

Components of the Publication Support Program:

  • Infrastructure development:

History of the program

Publikationsförderung

Box with Marbles
Box with Marbles

Förderung des Publizierens in der Geschlechterforschung – Ziele und Projekte

Professionelles Publikationsverhalten ist die Grundlage dafür, dass die Ergebnisse der Geschlechterforschung sichtbar werden, dass sie für wissenschaft­liche Auseinander­setz­ungen inner- und außerhalb des Feldes zur Verfügung stehen und dass sie Anerkennung erfahren. Sichtbarkeit von Ver­öffent­lichungen ist eine Voraus­setzung für die Steigerung des wissen­schaft­lichen Renommees der Geschlechter­forschung und der in diesem Feld Forschenden und Lehrenden.

Dafür braucht die Geschlechterforschung den Anschluss an die raschen Entwicklungen auf dem wissenschaftlichen Buch- und Zeitschriftenmarkt sowie innovative Ideen, um sich nicht nur an gegebene Modelle anpassen zu müssen, sondern die Entwicklungen aktiv mitgestalten zu können.

Im Arbeitsbereich Publikationsförderung am Margherita-von-Brentano-Zentrum (Leitung: Dr. Anita Runge) wird daher das Ziel verfolgt, „Leuchtturmprojekte“ für modernes Publizieren unter den Bedingungen von Open Access zu initiieren, die auch der besseren Vernetzung und Kommunikation innerhalb der interdisziplinären Community dienen: Ein aktuelles Projekt ist die Einrichtung eines Fachrepositoriums für die Geschlechterforschung.

Bestandteile des Publikationsförderprogramms:

  • Zeitschriften:

  • querelles-net (Rezensionszeitschrift)
  • QJB (Querelles. Jahrbuch für Frauen- und Geschlechterforschung)
  • Infrastrukturentwicklung:

Zur Geschichte des Programms